top of page

Save Your Family

You are constantly building.

Your career.

Your house.

Your 401k.

A playground set for your kids’ enjoyment.

But what are you constructing for the salvation of your family?

A couple of years ago, as I sat practicing my memory verse in Hebrews for our Discipleship group meeting the following week, I saw something that convicted me deeply.

I had recited the passage over and over so as to memorize it, but until that moment, I had missed a few words, right in the middle of the verse.

The passage was Hebrews 11:7:

7 By faith Noah, being warned by God concerning events as yet unseen, in reverent fear constructed an ark for the saving of his household. By this he condemned the world and became an heir of the righteousness that comes by faith.

Look right in the middle there…

Why was he building the ark?

It says for the saving of his household.

This passage is now underlined in my Bible, with a footnote written out beside that reads, “what am I constructing for the saving of my household?!”

I have constructed lots of things for my wife and daughter.

I have a job to provide.

I have signed my daughter up for things like dance and soccer to learn discipline and skill.

I have taken my honey out on date nights so that she feels loved.

But what am I constructing for their salvation?

Noah built an ark, yes in fear of God, and yes, in faith. But Hebrews said he did it for the saving of his household. He cared about their salvation.

He cared enough that, while others made fun of him for working on his obedience to God’s instructions, Noah continued forging on a path of salvation for his family.

So what if you are ridiculed by coach and team because you choose to have your family at church rather than away games on the weekend.

Your son/daughter’s eternal security is worth the disdain of others.

So what if you’re not the cool dad/mom who makes sure they have their family night to study God’s word and pray at the expense of a party down the road and your kid’s social livelihood.

I have decided that, should my daughter rebel and turn from God into a horrific eternal dwelling place, it will be after climbing over the effort and ark I have been building her whole life, with me wrapped around her legs trying to stop her.

Yes, she will make that decision for herself, but I will have been building the ark that she might see salvation at every turn.

When we look at the sky, I want her to be in awe of what God has painted for her.

When she sees another person, she will have in the back of her mind the creativity it took for God to have made so much beautiful diversity in his creation.

When trouble comes, my voice, and her mother’s voice, will be ringing in her ears with God’s word as counsel through the rough waters.

Noah’s obedience to God after hearing His word/command, was the only hope for his wife and children.

It is very likely, mom and dad, that your obedience to God and His word are the best, maybe only, hope for your kids to see, hear and know the Lord.

What are you constructing for the saving of your household?

Because if it is their success or happiness here, it will fall short of salvation apart from Christ!

 HOW do i SAY THIS GENTLY: 

My name is Adam Casey. I am a counselor at a faith-based drug and alcohol rehabilitation program in North Alabama. Day after day, for hours at a time, I am sitting with men who have seen (and done) some terrible things. Through these counseling sessions, personal struggles, and teaching classes on how Christ is the answer to recovery and reconciliation, many revelatory epiphanies have emerged. All of which are what inspire this blog. I am fully aware of my depravity and certain ability for flaw so make sure to test everything you read here with the word of God. Also, feel free to  write and respond. I love your feedback.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
No tags yet.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page